Our guarantees Forum - Discussion Board Ocarina Lessons about us about our ocarinas ocarina video ocarina sound samples ocarinas and music Home Page
March 29, 2020, 10:12:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Join Karl in The 5-Minute Musician's Club™.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Experienced MO players-PLEASE HELP!!!  (Read 9513 times)
Treblemaker

Student of the Ocarina

« on: May 07, 2012, 04:34:43 am »

Hi, I started playing a Warmstone MO Jan. 12, 2012 and I don't know how well I am progressing. I am on chapt. 23 in the Learning to Play MO Book. I can read all the notes (having trouble reading 2/4 and 6/8 timing though), but I am still having trouble playing sharp. When I play high B (F#) the note isn't as clear as it should be. When I play it sharp, the note has a really nice, clear tone but when I hit it true I have to use so little breath that it does't sound as good. Also when I play high E (B), I have the same problem. my high F (C) is really clear and sweet but my E (B) is breathy and not that clear. What am I doing wrong??? Should I still be having trouble playing sharp? I never play flat.
I read somewhere that your brain is supposed to compensate- so I guess my brain is out to lunch or something Roll Eyes. I would really appreciate input from experienced players who have overcome this obstacle.

Hopefully,
Pamela

kypfer

« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 07:25:25 am »

I'm not sure I can help, but a couple of things do spring to mind :-

When you say "play sharp" or "play flat", what are you comparing to? Both my polycarbonate instruments are noticeably flat, in comparasion to my recorders, unless I blow quite hard (that is to say, confidently Wink ), the low notes moreso than the higher ones.