Our guarantees Forum - Discussion Board Ocarina Lessons about us about our ocarinas ocarina video ocarina sound samples ocarinas and music Home Page
March 30, 2020, 11:12:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Join Karl in The 5-Minute Musician's Club™.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: dj/dt (Change in journey with respect to time)  (Read 3891 times)
Calculus

« on: December 28, 2012, 11:53:43 am »

I started playing Mountain Ocarinas Nov 30 2011. I had never really played any instrument well at all besides piano as a young kid (I could play the pink panther melody by memory but not sight reading), and that was not easy to learn fingerings for. I had dabbled in tin whistle and recorder playing, so fipple flutes were not foreign to me, but learned a lot faster than i thought i would. Against my parent's wishes (I still live within five miles from their house, and they thought it looked weird.) I wore my ocarina whenever I could and remembered to. A lot of times I still didn't play it, due to fear of disturbing others. I found the c harder than the g, but preferred it's sound at the time. One day, someone with kids walked over to where I was playing. I thought she would ask me to stop playing, but instead, the kids had asked her to take them over to listen. After that, I grew much more confident that people would at least tolerate it, and played much more frequently out of the home. I learned how to play the 'unofficial" notes (fipple bending lows and overblown high) "Take me out to the ball game" Yankee Doodle", "Greensleeves" in d minor later in e minor) and a few other tune's other people have come up with, and started composing my own ocarina tunes. I had already composed some other tunes using LMMS on my computer. I forgot to play a couple months at a time sometimes, but always remembered eventually. I learned how to play many modes (variations on the major s