Our guarantees Forum - Discussion Board Ocarina Lessons about us about our ocarinas ocarina video ocarina sound samples ocarinas and music Home Page
June 19, 2019, 01:12:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Join Karl in The 5-Minute Musician's Club™.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ocarinista from the UK  (Read 4513 times)
Ayo10
Active Newbie

« on: December 05, 2014, 09:34:25 pm »

Hello fellow oc folk

I am from Birmingham in England (rather than Alabama!) I am a classroom music teacher who plays a number of instruments but violin, ocarina and mandolin are my main instruments. In terms of ocarinas I have played John Langley's instruments both standard and extended models for a couple of decades including as part of an early music ensemble.

I am sort of new to Mountain Ocs and not really. I'll explain - I bought the polyC back in 2003 or 4 I think and for one reason or another did not get on with it and put it down. However, I have introduced English ocarinas to my students this year and have formed an ocarina ensemble. I decided to play my polyC and fell in love with the sound. Its also been good to talk with my students about the different types of ocarinas too. My polyC will take pride of place as I perform carols and Alleluia (Cohen) with my students next week at our Christmas concert.

What I like about my polyC is the inline system which makes certain trills and ornaments less complicated than using the English oc system. I have now ordered a polyG as there are some Vivaldi and Bach pieces I would like to play with ornaments that are too complicated or impossible using the English G I already have.

I wait with bated breath for a 2 octave instrument...

Peace

Ayo  Smiley

« Last Edit: December 05, 2014, 09:36:04 pm by Ayo10 » Logged
ubizmo

I couldn't fail to disagree with you less.

Re:
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2014, 02:59:25 am »